ETF thread

Discussion in 'Stock picks and trading strategies' started by Technical Alchemist, Jan 31, 2008.

1. Technical Alchemist

Technical Alchemist forum leader won penny contest 13x won weekly contest 12x

It seems ETFs get a lot of coverage in the larger media arena but that they are seldom discussed here on the micro level. My hope is that this thread can serve as a general forum for the discussion of new and even existing ETFs, trends in these vehicles, and also serve as a discussion on strategies respective to ETFs.

As a relatively new investor (DRIP for 10+ yrs / active management for ~3 yrs) what we are experiencing in the market is foreign to me. I remember the flat lining of the markets from '05 and before (I've been a student of the markets well before putting money to work) and obviously was rewarded nicely, like many of you, with the oil, commodities, emerging market as well as tech bull markets of the past couple years. However, at this juncture with the economy in recession or at least on the brink I do not have personal experience navigating the many treacherous pitfalls one can make with extreme volatility and vacillation in the markets. For this reason I'd like to spread some of my risk by purchasing ETFs rather than individual stocks until the market environment normalizes or stabilizes.