Canadian Online Brokers

Discussion in 'Learn how to trade or invest by asking questions' started by nomis_bmw, Mar 16, 2006.

1. nomis_bmw

nomis_bmw New Member

Just wanted to ask the Canadian investors out there which online broker do you use? I've been using TD Waterhouse but the 29$ US commission is pretty brutal...I've been looking to change it to Ameritrade Canada or Questrade? anyone one use these two....please share your thoughts on these two more affordable brokers...especially maintenance fees or other hidden fees....thanks guys.

2. thetank

thetank New Member

I know how you feel; I pay $25 dollars a trade with CIBC.

3. SupraSaiyan

SupraSaiyan New Member

I'm with Credential Direct. $25/trade here too and $4 to set limit. :(

4. mhertz

mhertz Member

i've been using ameritrade canada for a few months and it's pretty good. but i'm now in the process of transferring my account over to optionsXpress.ca because ameritrade canada accounts are being transferred to TD Waterhouse brokerage accounts.

optionsXpress, from what I hear and have read, is the BEST online discount broker. barron's had a big piece rating all of them and this one came out on top! so i'm looking forward to begin trading with them.

5. casperov

casperov Member

How about Interactive Brokers?

Anyone have any experience with them?

Their trade prices are pretty good, but if you trade over a certain number of shares, it is an extra couple of cents per share. So not so good if you are trading a lot of shares.

8O

6. mhertz

mhertz Member

optionsxpress is flat rate, no minimum, no maximum.

7. casperov

casperov Member

Which service is the best in terms of trading fees for small stocks where 10 000 shares are the norm?

:confused:

8. casperov

casperov Member

Is that regardless of the number of shares you buy or sell?

Even like 20 000 shares of company XYZ?:p

9. nomis_bmw

nomis_bmw New Member