Question: Small dogs of the Dow and other beginner friendly ideas

Discussion in 'Learn how to trade or invest by asking questions' started by Pimemoriam, Sep 29, 2017.

1. Pimemoriam

Pimemoriam New Member

First of all hello everybody!

I am currently 21 years old living in Germany and studying mechanical engineering.

Recently I had the chance to do my bachelor thesis at a big company and they pay good money for it. Because I am also an avid photographer I recently spent a large part of my savings to acquire new gear. Even though I don’t regret doing that at all I still feel like I should start working on a regular saving plan and decided now that I have a (for me) large income of 800€ a month I could invest 500€ a month in stocks.

I am totally fine with the risks involved as long as the idea behind it is long term saving and money appreciation. I realise that I could potentially (although unlikely) lose money for a decade before the market is favorable for me and I start to generate some extra money (which I would reinvest). I have now spent the last 2 weeks reading several books and plowing through websites and posts and I have to say the more I learned the less I seem to know. From what I know the small dogs of the Dow strategy might be a good strategy to employ as it is very simple and apparently the only requirement is discipline over a long period.

Thing is I have also read several posts saying it is all bogus and one should rather buy large indexes.